cuore1 Clinical practice has identified different types of Atrial Fibrillation.

According to its duration Atrial Fibrillation can be:

  • Paroxysmal: it ends spontaneously in a couple of days;
  • Persistent: it lasts until a cardioversion is performed, with restoration of normal sinus rhythm;
  • Permanent: the arrhythmia persists or repeatedly recurs despite cardioversion, and its presence is accepted by both the physician and the patient, who should try and manage this condition for the better
According to its symptoms Atrial Fibrillation can be:
  • Symptomatic:in this case patients present the typical symptoms of this arrhythmia.
  • Asymptomatic: in this case patients perceive no symptoms at all. This implies a very risky condition, because the patient is not aware of the presence of the arrhythmia. And indeed, suffering from Atrial Fibrillation without being aware of its presence means not treating it - a fact that severely increases the risk of stroke.

More about the


Watch the Educational Video
Join our newsletter

Insert your email and

All rights are reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part of the contents of this site is prohibited.